English Faculty Members Honored at GSU’s Celebrating Faculty Excellence Event

Posted On March 24, 2018
Categories Uncategorized

On May 8, 2018, President Mark Becker and Provost Risa Palm hosted Celebrating Faculty Excellence, an annual event recognizing newly named Regents’ Professors, Distinguished University Professors, faculty award recipients, and faculty receiving promotion and/or tenure. The Department of English was well represented.

Rhetoric and Composition faculty member Ashley Holmes was recognized from her promotion and tenure.

Professor Lynée Gaillet, professor and chair of the Department of English, was one of the five GSU faculty members honored as a 2018 Distinguished University Professor. The Distinguished University

Professor appointment was created in 2013 to recognize professors who have records of exemplary scholarship in their respective fields of study, and whose research and teaching trajectories demonstrate a commitment to sustained high levels of academic achievement. The appointments have the potential to serve as steppingstones to future appointments as Regents’ Professors, the highest academic appointment in the University System of Georgia.

Beth Gylys, professor of English and creative writing, and Melissa McLeod, senior lecturer, were selected as recipients of the GSU Instructional Effectiveness Award for 2018. Traditionally, this award is given to only one faculty member, but this year, the university decided to award it to two people, and they both are members of the English Department. The purpose of the Instructional Effectiveness Award is to recognize instructors who demonstrate a strong commitment to teaching and student success and to share at the university level their outstanding instructional approaches that are creative and effective in engaging students in the learning process.

English Department graduate Mary Helen O’Connor, who is a senior faculty associate for the Office of International Initiatives and assistant professor of English at Perimeter College, was honored as a 2018 recipient of two prestigious university awards: a George M. Sparks Award and the Carl V. Patton President’s Award for Community Service and Social Action. She is the first person in GSU history to receive both honors in the same year.

Please join us in congratulating Melissa, Beth, Ashley, Mary Helen, and Lynée!