Creative Writing

The Georgia State University Department of English’s Creative Writing Program offers diverse and challenging educational experiences in the literary arts. Our award-winning faculty of poets, essayists, and fiction writers mentor undergraduate and graduate students who come to GSU to study the craft and art of writing, and to prepare for careers in writing, publishing, and academia.

We award the PhD in English, Concentration in Creative Writing (one of the top 15 in the US, as ranked by Poets & Writers) and the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing.

Creative Writing Program students enjoy the benefits of living and writing in Atlanta, an international city with a vibrant literary culture, and great art, music, and food. Our students come from all over—Oregon, Tennessee, California, Nigeria, New York, and even Georgia. Those students publish novels and collections of poems and stories, place work in top literary magazines, and win important prizes, fellowships, and contests.

Our faculty includes Danielle Cadena Deulen (poetry & creative nonfiction), Beth Gylys (poetry), John Holman (fiction), Sheri Joseph (fiction), and Josh Russell (fiction & creative nonfiction). Every member of the Creative Writing Program faculty has published with top commercial, independent, or university presses three or more books that have received significant critical attention. They have received the Whiting Writer’s Award, the Grub Street National Book Prize, the Utah Book Award, the GLCA New Writers Award, and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, Yaddo, the MacDowell Collony, and the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference.

The Georgia State University Creative Writing Program is home to the award-winning Five Points: A Journal of Literature and Art, and the student-edited literary magazine New South.

The Creative Writing Program’s Events Series brings to campus nationally and internationally known writers who give public readings and lectures and meet with students for workshops and Q&A sessions. Recent visitors have included Lauren Groff, David Shields, Natasha Trethewey, Lydia Davis, Randall Kenan, Dana Spiota, Sindiwe Magona, and Edward Hirsch.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for news, notes, and events.